New Format of T20 World Cup 2024:

The T20 World Cup 2024 will host the West Indies and the United States in a different format from the earlier two editions of the tournament.

The next T20 World Cup will include four groups of five teams rather than Round One & Super 12s. This is a clear triumph for the global game & entirely right after this year’s World Cup where every team lost at least one match.


Instead of the Super 12 after the first round as in 2021 and 2022 t20 world cup, the 20 teams will be divided into four groups in the 2024 tournament. The top two teams in each of the four groups will advance to the Super Eight where they will be into two groups of four teams.

The top two teams in the Super Eight groups will move to the semi-finals. The team who wins the semi-finals qualified for the final. In the last two editions of the T20 World Cup, the first round consisted of two groups of four teams. The top Two teams of each group qualified for the Super 12 round.

2024 T20 World Cup New Format:

12 teams have sealed their places in the T20 World Cup 2024. The United States and the West Indies qualified at once as tournament hosts. Alongside defending champions England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and the Netherlands have also qualified for the top eight in the 2022 edition. Afghanistan and Bangladesh are the other two teams that have reserved their places, as they are the next best in the ICC T20I rankings at the end of November 14, 2022. The remaining eight spots will be decided during the regional qualifier.


  • Teams – 20
  • Groups – 4 (5 teams each group).
  • Top 2 in each group – qualified for Super 8.
  • Super 8 – Two groups (Four teams each group).
  • In Super 8s both groups – Top 2 teams qualified for the semifinals.



Spread the love

By Abdullah

Hi, I am a cricket lover and write about cricket-related content.

Leave a Reply