Fatima Sana Returns to the National Team for the Series Against Ireland

Right-arm fast bowler Fatima Sana returned to the national team for the three-match ODI and T20I series against Ireland in Lahore from November 4-16.

The three ODIs are part of the 2022-25 ICC Women’s Championship and will be played from November 4-9 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Fatima, a 20-Year-Old out of the ACC Women’s T20 Asian Cup held earlier this month in Sylhet. Bangladesh after spraining her ankle while playing for Barbados Royals Women in the Caribbean Premier League.

Diana Baig was replaced by Fatima in both teams as the latter was out of action due to a shoulder injury she sustained while playing in the ACC Women’s T20 Asian Cup.

Javeria Khan In T20I Squad:

There were only two changes in the T20I squad that appeared in the recent ACC Women’s T20 Asia tournament. And three changes in the ODI squad played against Sri Lanka in Karachi in June this year. The players missing from the ODI squad are Anam Amin, Gull Feroza, and Diana Baig (due to injury) replaced by Nashra Sandhu, Kainat Imtiaz, and Umm-e-Hani. In T20I, Javeria Khan comes in place of Sidra Nawaz.

Meanwhile, the 15-man T20I squad revealed by women’s national team chief selector Asmavia Iqbal also included Javeria Khan. Javeria last played for Pakistan in the short form in July 2021 against West Indies. The team was after discussions between Asmavia Iqbal, interim head coach Saleem Jaffer and Captain Bismah Maroof.

Pakistan ODI squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Umm-e-Hani
Reserve players: Ayesha Naseem and Tuba Hassan
Pakistan T20I squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Nashra Sandhu, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, and Tuba Hassan
Reserve players: Ghulam Fatima, Sidra Nawaz, and Umm-e-Hani


Chief Selector Asmavia Iqbal said:

“I want to congratulate all the players selected for the upcoming home series against Ireland. The team did well in the ACC Women’s T20 Asian Cup recently, so we didn’t bring as many changes as we used to.” wish the team well and stay strong ahead of next year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

“Fatima Sana’s return to the team will strengthen the pace department after the team without the experienced skipper, Diana Baig. I am sure the players will step up and perform as important as the ICC Women’s Championship, will be prepared for direct qualification to the next ODI World Cup.

The experienced Javeria Khan has joined the T20I squad to strengthen the team’s batting, and his presence at the top of the order will provide stability.”

Series schedule:

  • 4 November – First ODI
  • 6 November – Second ODI
  • 9 November – Third ODI
  • 12 November – First T20I
  • 14 November – Second T20I
  • 16 November – Third T20I
Spread the love

By Abdullah

Hi, I am a cricket lover and write about cricket-related content.

Leave a Reply