Asia Cup 2023: List of All Player of the Tournament in Asia Cup (ODI)

The Asia Cup is a men’s cricket tournament contested by the five full members of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. This Year Nepal will be playing as the Sixth Team in the Asia Cup 2023.

The Asia Cup is the most coveted cricket tournament in Asia. It is primarily known for the battle between India and Pakistan, which shows their dominance in cricket.

The Asia Cup provides a platform for the Asian teams to compete against each other and to prepare for major tournaments Like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup, and the ICC Champions Trophy.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will jointly host the 2023 Asia Cup from August 30 to September 17. It will be the first time that two countries will co-host the tournament.

Who Can Win The Player of the Tournament in Asia Cup 2023:

Virat Kohli and Babar Azam are one of the best batsmen in the world. Kohli scored over 12,000 runs with 46 centuries and he is the fastest batter to score 10,00 runs in ODI Cricket in 205 innings. Virat Kohli is known for his fitness and consistent performance in International Cricket.

Babar Azam is the third-fastest Pakistani batsman to score 1000 runs in ODI cricket in just 21 innings. He scored over 5000 runs in ODIs with 18 centuries and Babar Azam has been consistently scoring runs for his team as he was the top ODI scorer for Pakistan in 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, and 2022.

Both players have been in great form in recent years, and they are expected to be the best-performing players for their respective teams in the upcoming Asia Cup 2023.

List of All Player of the Tournament:

  •  1986: Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka)
  •  1988: Navjot Sidhu (India)
  •  1995: Mohammad Azharuddin (India)
  •  1997: Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka)
  •  2002: Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan)
  •  2004: Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)
  •  2008: Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)
  •  2010: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
  •  2012: Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
  • 2014: Lahiru Thirimanne (Sri Lanka)
  •  2018: Shikhar Dhawan (India)
  •  2022: Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)

1986: Arjun Ranatunga was the Sri Lankan batsman and he was the Player of the Tournament in Asia Cup 1986 with 105 runs and four wickets. He was the key player in Sri Lanka’s first Asia Cup win in 1986.

1988: In 1988, Navjot Singh Sidhu, an Indian batsman, scored 179 runs in 4 innings at an average of 44.75, including a Man of the Match performance of 76 in the final against Sri Lanka and became the Player of The Tournament. He secured his position as Player of The Tournament in 1995 as well..

2018: Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan was the star performer in Asia Cup 2018, he scored 405 runs at an average of 67.50. He made two centuries and two half-centuries and was named the player of the Tournament of Asia Cup 2018.

2022: In 2022, Wanindu Hasaranga, a Sri Lankan All-Rounder, was named Player of the Tournament with nine wickets at an economy of 7.39 and scored 66 runs at a strike rate of 150. He was the second-highest wicket-taker in Asia Cup 2022.

Spread the love

By Abdullah

Hi, I am a cricket lover and write about cricket-related content.

Leave a Reply